

Stuart Ayres Minister for Enterprise, Investment and Trade Minister for Tourism and Sport Minister for Western Sydney

MEDIA RELEASE

Thursday 3 February 2022

WINNERS OF 2021 NSW TOURISM AWARDS ANNOUNCED

The outstanding strength, resilience and achievements of the NSW tourism industry was honoured and celebrated tonight at the 2021 NSW Tourism Awards.

Supported by the NSW Government through Destination NSW, the awards recognised finalists in 29 categories across a range of tourism areas, including Tourist Attractions, Festivals and Events, Ecotourism, Tourism Marketing, Accommodation, Excellence in Accessible Tourism and Local Government Tourism.

Minister for Enterprise, Investment and Trade, Minister for Tourism and Sport, and Minister for Western Sydney Stuart Ayres said the event highlighted the industry's commitment to delivering premium products and experiences to all visitors to NSW.

"I am immensely proud of all finalists of the 2021 NSW Tourism Awards, who have shown remarkable professionalism and dedication over an incredibly difficult period to deliver the best possible outcomes for the NSW tourism industry," Mr Ayres said.

"The winners have shown a particular commitment to excellence and I congratulate them for their innovation and perseverance that these awards represent.

"The NSW Government is committed to supporting tourism operators and events that create jobs, boost regional economies and position NSW as a global destination.

"We thank you for your outstanding contributions over the past 12 months and look forward to working together to achieve our goal of making NSW the premier visitor economy of the Asia Pacific."

NSW Tourism Industry Council Executive Manager Greg Binskin said the NSW Tourism Awards was a celebration and a beacon for the NSW tourism industry.

"It's been an extremely challenging period for the NSW visitor economy and, after a break in 2020, the return of the NSW Tourism Awards demonstrates the renewed energy of the visitor economy and celebrates the people, places, and vibrant culture of our feel-good state," Mr Binskin said.

Winners in the national award categories will represent NSW at the Qantas Australian Tourism Awards to be held on 18 March 2022. For a full list of winners and runners up, visit the <u>NSW Tourism Awards website</u>.

2021 NSW TOURISM AWARDS WINNERS

- Major Tourist Attractions Taronga Western Plains Zoo, Dubbo
- Tourist Attractions Oakvale Wildlife Park, Salt Ash
- Major Festivals and Events Sydney Caravan Camping Holiday Supershow
- Festivals and Events Deni Ute Muster 2019
- Ecotourism Tweed Eco Cruises, Tweed Heads
- Cultural Tourism Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail, Port Macquarie
- Excellence in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Tourism The Giingan Experience by Bularri Muurlay Nyanggan Aboriginal Corporation, Coffs Harbour
- Tourism Retail & Hire Services Sydney Harbour Kayaks, Mosman
- Visitor Information Services Bathurst Visitor Information Centre
- Business Event Venues Events at Taronga
- Major Tour and/or Transport Operators Hughes Australia's Chauffeur Service, Sydney
- Tour and/or Transport Operators Tweed Eco Cruises, Tweed Heads
- Adventure Tourism Lets Go Surfing, Bondi to Byron Bay
- Tourism Marketing and Campaigns Mudgee Region Tourism
- Tourism Restaurants and Catering Services The River Deck, Albury
- Tourism Wineries, Distilleries and Breweries Heifer Station Wines, Orange
- Caravan and Holiday Parks Ingenia Holidays, South West Rocks
- Hosted Accommodation Blueberry Hills on Comleroy, Kurrajong
- Unique Accommodation Sierra Escape, Mudgee
- Self-Contained Accommodation Riverside Holiday Resort Urunga
- 3 3.5 Star Accommodation Manera Heights Apartments, Dubbo
- 4 4.5 Star Accommodation Byng Street Boutique Hotel, Orange
- 5 Star Accommodation Mt Hay Retreat, Berry
- New Tourism Business Sydney Zoo, Bungarribee
- Excellence in Food Tourism Blue Ginger Picnics, Kingscliff
- Excellence in Accessible Tourism* Riverside Holiday Resort Urunga
- Local Government Award for Tourism* MidCoast Council: Destination Barrington Coast
- Young Achievers Award* Hugh Sutherland, Blue Mountains Climbing School
- Dean Gorddard Award for Outstanding Contribution by an Individual* Ruth Sandow, Chair of Milparinka Heritage & Tourism Association
- Judges' Tourism Star Award -
 - Eden Visitor Information Centre, The Sapphire Coast
 - Port Macquarie-Hastings Council
 - Simpson Cottage, Bundeena

*Does not progress to the Qantas Australian Tourism Awards

MEDIA: Claudia Stevenson | 0499 574 053