

MEDIA RELEASE

# Liberty A-League Women kicks off 2022-23 Finals Series

- Liberty A-League Women Finals Series launches with just over 100 days to go to the FIFA Women's World Cup 2023
- Sydney FC crowned Premiers on the final weekend of the regular season
- Melbourne Victory and Melbourne City qualify for the Finals Series during the final round to join Western United and Sydney FC.

**April 4, 2023** – The Australian Professional Leagues (APL) has launched the Liberty A-League Finals Series 2022-23 to kick off what is set to be the biggest year ever for women's football in Australia and New Zealand.

The four qualifying teams were confirmed on Sunday as Sydney FC, Western United, Melbourne City FC and Melbourne Victory, after Sydney FC took the Premiers Plate for the third consecutive year, creating a new record for consecutive Premiers Plate wins.

The Semi Finals will be held on Saturday 15 April at Casey Fields in Melbourne and on Sunday 16 April at Allianz Stadium in Sydney where fans will be able to see the best of the Liberty A-League talent including CommBank Matildas Cortnee Vine, Holly McNamara and Jada Whyman.

The Preliminary Final will take place the following weekend, hosted by either Sydney FC or Western United. Expected to draw record crowds, the Liberty A-League Women Grand Final will be played for the first time at CommBank Stadium in Sydney on Sunday 30 April.

A-Leagues CEO Danny Townsend said: "It is just over 100 days to go until the FIFA Women's World Cup, and the Liberty A-League Women's Finals Series is a perfect opener for the biggest event in women's football. We want to see more people than ever before come and see the next generation of Matildas in action.

"In the lead up to this landmark year, we have invested to supercharge the league by expanding the number of teams and extending the length of the season. This is all part of our commitment to a lasting legacy from the FIFA Women's World Cup of a thriving and growing Liberty A-League for players and fans."

The APL has also announced that all Liberty A-League Pass holders will be able to attend the Liberty A-League Women Grand Final. The Pass was a new initiative for the 2023 season designed to give under 16 year old participants the opportunity to attend Liberty A-League games at their local club.

The A-Leagues Finals are supported by the NSW Government via its tourism and major events agency Destination NSW.

Tickets for the first Semi Final between Melbourne City and Melbourne Victory are set go on sale at 12.00pm AEST on Tuesday 4 April via <u>Ticketbooth</u> starting at \$10 for adults and \$20 for families, while tickets for the second Semi Final between Sydney FC and Western United are on sale via <u>Ticketek</u> for those looking to go the double-header (with Sydney FC playing Perth



Glory in the Isuzu UTE A-League Men) otherwise tickets can be purchased from the Allianz Stadium box office starting at \$20 for adults, \$10 junior and \$40 a family.

Tickets for the Liberty A-League Grand Final went on sale in February and are still available via Ticketek, as the A-Leagues aim to set the record for a standalone Grand Final match.

The Liberty A-League Final Series will be streamed exclusively on 10 Play and Paramount+, with the Liberty A-League Grand Final also broadcast on 10 Bold. To find out more about A-Leagues, visit: <u>https://keepup.com.au/</u>

# -ENDS-

### For media enquiries please contact:

Matthew Ellenby 0401 668 895 matthew.ellenby@aleagues.com.au

# Match Details:

- Semi Final #1: Melbourne City FC v Melbourne Victory, Saturday 15 April, 3pm (AEST) at Casey Fields
- Semi Final #2: Sydney FC v Western United FC, Sunday 16 April, 5.45pm (AEST) at Allianz Stadium
- Preliminary Final: TBC. Runner up in Semi Final #2 to host the winner of Semi Final #1
- Grand Final: 4pm AEST, Sunday 30 April at CommBank Stadium in Sydney

### About A-Leagues:

The A-Leagues represent the pinnacle of professional football in Australia, comprising Isuzu UTE A-League Men's, Liberty A-League Women's, Youth and E-league competitions. The 2022-23 season will see 12 clubs in the Isuzu UTE A-League Men and 11 in Liberty A-League Women – with a commitment to add an additional women's team - Central Coast Mariners - next season.

The A-Leagues, operated by Australian Professional Leagues (APL), is delivering against its bold ambition to develop top-tier professional football talent in Australia, drive engagement across the leagues and to build on football's undisputed position as the country's most popular participation sport.